Temple Ordinance Worker?

Hey everyone, haven’t posted in awhile.  I’m currently working on a post going over some of the reasons why a very active, faithful, catechized Catholic would leave the Catholic Church for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.  I think it’s really important to write this as a very common misconception held by Catholics is that people that leave the Catholic Church didn’t really understand the beliefs, weren’t well catechized (taught/formed in the beliefs), and/or want to sin.  I’ve also found this view held be members of various other “one true churches” in relation to those that leave that church, however I will only comment on my specific experience as a former Catholic.

In the mean time, I’m also considering volunteering as a temple ordinance worker!  Latter-day Saints (or “Mormons”) have two major worship spaces.  The “meetinghouses” are where Sunday worship services, Sunday school, weekly classes and social events, etc. are held.  Latter-day Saints also have “temples”, which are very sacred spaces regarded as the literal “House of the Lord”, where His Spirit dwells, where we can feel His presence in a special way, and where we can participate in various sacred ordinances.

I was recently endowed in February, and since then, I’ve thought about volunteering as a temple ordinance worker.  An ordinance worker is essential a minister in the temple.  They administer some of the ordinances in the temple, and help to make sure the temple is operating smoothly.  I think that it would be pretty awesome to be able to serve in the House of the Lord in this capacity, and I think that I would be able to learn even more about the very symbolic temple rites from that angle.

I love being in the temple (we’re having a ward temple trip on Thursday evening to perform baptisms for the dead, can’t wait for that), being in the presence of God.  I also love reading about the ancient Jewish tabernacle and temple(s), and the ordinances that took place there, as well as the ancient Christian mysteries and their relationship to the temple.  Reading about all of these areas further testify to me of the restoration of the fullness of the Gospel of Jesus  Christ, as well as the restoration of various temple rites in the Lord’s Church.  I am particularly fascinated by washing and anointing rites, especially what I find on this blog.

Anyway, just thought I’d share that I’m considering volunteering as a temple worker!

One comment

Leave a Reply

