Baptism Tomorrow

Well it has been awhile since I’ve posted.  I’ve been meeting with the missionaries from the LDS Church for the past two weeks, and I will be baptized tomorrow morning at 11am.  I must say that it has been a very long journey towards this point, beginning with receiving my first Book of Mormon in 2002, being an LDS critics for a number of years, and after much research (both pro and critical sources) and prayer, I have received a witness of the Holy Ghost that this is the path to take.

The missionaries that I met with, Elder Hermosa and Elder Lima, have been great.  They were pretty surprised when we first met at how much I knew, and asked me if I would like to be baptized during our first meeting.  I knew that I was ready since I only decided to contact the missionaries when I felt that it was really time to move forward.  Elder Lima if from Brazil, and although he has only been in this country for almost two months, his grasp of English is very good.  Elder Hermosa is from Canada, and he’s been awesome.  He will be the one to baptize me.

Although there is much that I love about Catholicism and much that I will miss (though nothing necessarily doctrine-related), I know that this is where God is leading me.  This of course is even more difficult coming from a very active Catholic background (something that Catholic apologists many times look into.  They frequently say that those that leave the faith must have been poorly catechized, didn’t understand, etc.  I know this because I used to say the same thing!  However it is not specific to Catholicism.  I’d venture to say that most members of a faith say the same thing about those that leave that faith).

One thing I do know is that The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints really is the Lord’s church.  I have a very strong testimony of this, that Jesus Christ is at the head of this Church, based not only on a confirming witness of the Holy Ghost, but through extensive scriptural and historical study.  I know that the Gospel of Jesus Christ has been restored, and that the gates of hades have not prevailed (just like how they did not prevail when Jesus died).  I know that there are apostles and prophets on the earth today, just like there were anciently.  I know that by accepting the restored Gospel through faith in Jesus Christ, repentance, baptism, receiving the Holy Ghost, and enduring to the end, we can receive eternal life, through the atonement of Jesus Christ. I thank God for meeting with the Lord’s ministers, Elders Hermosa and Lima.  I know that tomorrow, I will receive baptism of repentance from those that hold authority from God, and will begin my eternal journey towards living with the Father, Son, and Holy Ghost for eternity, and becoming like God, as He promises in the Bible.

One comment

Leave a Reply

